REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Island Automotive Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/island-automotive-chat_13/)
-   -   Need Some Help..... (https://www.revscene.net/forums/567513-need-some-help.html)

igeemctwist 03-09-2009 07:38 PM

Need Some Help.....

Looking for someone to help me with replacing Valve stem seals, head gasket on my 4 cyl Mazda. I have some knowledge, just need a few more tools. I can offer 20-25$ an hour and provide the parts. Just need some guidence. Ill brings beers aswell...

I am avalible to drive the car over to a shop/garage on the weekends. I am assuming with the right tools it cant be much more then a 2-3 hr job.

Let me know!!

Thanks

ChrisStang 03-09-2009 08:54 PM

If it is a head gasket, it is going to take a lot longer than 2 hours. That job is a bee-otch.

igeemctwist 03-10-2009 06:04 AM

Head gasket doesnt need to be done, I just figure if the head is off anyways...

I narrowed it down to the valve seals because when its cold out when I first start it a little bit of blue smoke comes out, then after a few seconds its normal.

Also when the temperature outside is warm ( assuming seals expand) it doesnt do it.

Fleemer 03-10-2009 07:42 AM

all cars push a little blue when they first start. (older ones anyway)

Oil left in the cylinders from the day before or whatever.

I wouldn't be overly concerns. It woud be the valve seals if you were burning oil all the time, but if you already want to replace it, why not.

might as well do the headgasket while your at it.

if its dual overhead cam, i say forget the headgasket. you don't want to screw that timing up :P

Dentz 03-10-2009 09:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fleemer (Post 6321776)
if its dual overhead cam, i say forget the headgasket. you don't want to screw that timing up :P

:/