REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Food & Fine Dining (https://www.revscene.net/forums/food-fine-dining_33/)
-   -   Best Place to shop for groceries? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/578423-best-place-shop-groceries.html)

chileanwinehous 06-07-2009 09:52 PM

Best Place to shop for groceries?

I just moved to new Westminster and Im looking for the best bang for my buck when It comes to buying fruits,veggies,meat,bread. Is there local markets in the area? Im forced to buy at Safeway because its walking distance. Their prices are ridiculous. Im new to cooking rice and I would also like to know what is the most affordable and tasty rice to buy.

Im willing to make the trip to richmond if the prices are better there.

thanks!

SumAznGuy 06-07-2009 10:52 PM

Safeway is going to be the most expensive place to buy fruits and veggies.
Not sure where in New West you are, but for the freshest produce, you can take a look at Langley Farm Market. They have one near Kingsway and 10th ave I believe.
I think there might be a Kins Farm or 2 near you as well.

If you can drive to Ditchmond, try Cho's farm inside Aberdeen or Supermarket 2000 in the same mini mall as the second Jack's loft.

All these stores have good turn over so the produce is pretty fresh, and their prices are reasonable.

keifun 06-07-2009 11:20 PM

Try Save on Foods ...the closest one I can think of to New West is the one on kingsway at highgate village, which is pretty much near the boundary btwn burnaby and new west.

Marioo1991 06-08-2009 10:24 AM

SUPERSTORE

can't go wrong with the prices there..

Meowjin 06-08-2009 12:31 PM

if your willing to drive out to richmond, 2 road and blundell.

butcher and farmers market right next door to eachotehr.

get the lamb chops 2 dollars a piece can't go wrong.

SiR001 06-08-2009 12:52 PM

produce - Langley Farm Market....or Kin's Farm Market in City Square New West.