REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   HealthCare & Wellness (https://www.revscene.net/forums/healthcare-wellness_269/)
-   -   Changes in Pharmacy (https://www.revscene.net/forums/612309-changes-pharmacy.html)

What_the? 04-19-2010 11:39 PM

Changes in Pharmacy

Not sure if anyone's following along with the proposed changes in legislation for Pharmacy Technicians, but there is a big change underway in the field of Pharmacy and noone seems to know about it. Every single person gets their prescriptions from the Pharmacy, so these changes really are relevant to everyone, so please do take a moment to read this.

I am a practicing community pharmacist, and currently trying to figure out what's going on in terms of this new proposed licensing of pharmacy technicians initiative. Yes, that's right... even as a pharmacist I have no idea what's going on because the people pushing this legislation out are being super elusive about what is going to happen. They're leaving everyone in the dark trying to push this through, and we in the Pharmacy profession barely have a clue about what's going on, let alone the general public who's healthcare will be changing very soon.

First off, some background information. There are 2 main types of people behind the counter in the pharmacy. Pharmacists, and Pharmacy Technicians.

Pharmacists have a minimum of 5 years post secondary education plus several clinical rotations in the community and hospital settings. They are educated on things like Pharmacology, Therapeutics, Biomolecular Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Pharmacokinetics, Toxicology, Anatomy, Physiology, so on and so forth. They are familiar with medical conditions and what goes wrong in your body, what medication is used to treat it and why, what the differences between drugs used are at a chemical level, how the medicine works with your body at a molecular level to provide it's effect, etc.