REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   The John Norwich Riders Corner (https://www.revscene.net/forums/john-norwich-riders-corner_45/)
-   -   Difference between a 2006 SV650 and SV650S (https://www.revscene.net/forums/616197-difference-between-2006-sv650-sv650s.html)

Selanne_200 05-31-2010 04:50 PM

Difference between a 2006 SV650 and SV650S

Hey guys,

a noob here looking to get my first bike and I found a SV650S that I like.

Now, i've ridden on a 2008 SV650F and that felt very comfortable as far as power and riding position. I'm not sure what the difference is between that and a 2006 SV650S or even a SV650 for that matter, so if anyone can shed some lights regaring that, it'll be greatly appreciated.

Jermyzy 06-08-2010 09:09 PM

SV650 is naked bike with more upright seating position and higher handlebars. The SV650S is the half-fairing model with clip-on handlebars and higher set rear pegs. The SV650F I'm guessing the the SV650S model with a full lower fairing.

stevo911_ 06-08-2010 09:46 PM

^you nailed it.
The naked is a more comfortable seating position with lower footpegs, and higher bars (and doesnt have the bodywork to mangle when you drop it)

The S has rearsets (footpegs are further back and higher up), clip-ons (the handlebars clamp onto the sides of the forks so they can sit much lower) that lean you forward more into a more aggressive/sportier seating position.

The F is the S model with more bodywork to scratch/break when you drop it (and has since completely replaced the S model)

I dont know how noobish you are but:

If you've never ridden before I strongly suggest taking a riding course (you're an idiot if you dont, especially riding on the mainland)
Spend more money on good gear and less on a new bike than the other way around (heavy work grade jeans will burn though in seconds on asphalt, designer jeans you may as well be naked, and runners are not sufficient for footwear)