REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Sports, Sports Entertainment and Fitness (https://www.revscene.net/forums/sports-sports-entertainment-fitness_35/)
-   -   Suggestions for skating improvements for a "'tweener"? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/627368-suggestions-skating-improvements-tweener.html)

Tapioca 10-12-2010 10:24 AM

Suggestions for skating improvements for a "'tweener"?

I want to improve my skating because I may want to pick up hockey on a semi-serious basis.

I learned to skate when I was about 6-7 (I'm now 28) and I'm fairly comfortable on my skates. I have decent speed coming out of the corners, but I know my stride should be more efficient. I can skate backwards, but my left backward crossovers need work. I can only stop one-way (left-facing), so I want to learn how to stop the other way.

I started playing stick-and-puck hockey last year with a bunch of guys from work. We don't play in full gear and I'm not interested in acquiring a full set of gear until I improve the fundamentals of my skating first. My understanding of power-skating classes is that people show up in full gear.

I've never done skating lessons in my life so I've picked up bad habits and muscle memory. I feel that I need coaching to improve, but I don't want to sign up for conventional skating classes with beginners (but perhaps, any instruction is better than none?) Anyway, I didn't want to make a redundant thread, but after searching old threads on power skating, etc., I still think I need recommendations on what to do.

TIA.

Jgresch 10-12-2010 11:23 AM

There's not really a super secret way to get better fast. Just set goals for yourself and work on a couple simple things at a time until you perfect them.