REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Fashion & Shopping (https://www.revscene.net/forums/fashion-shopping_34/)
-   -   Shopping for ties (https://www.revscene.net/forums/681627-shopping-ties.html)

tru_blue 03-12-2013 03:13 PM

Shopping for ties

So how do you guys shop for ties? I see some at Sears for $19.99 while brand name ones like Calvin Klein and Ralph Lauren cost $65. and Burberry ones cost $100+.

Is there a difference when wearing them?

Can people tell an expensive tie from a cheap one?

I need to get some ties. What are your opinions and advises when I'm selecting a tie?

*there are ones at Sears that cost only $12.97, are those decent?

I'm a noob when it comes to buying ties :okay:

lowside67 03-12-2013 03:25 PM

Ties, like every article of clothing, are priced on the basis of materials, workmanship, and the markup they can get away with (the name). Everybody can tell cheap clothes, even if they can't tell you how they know they are cheap - a poor fit, obviously inferior materials, poor workmanship, etc.

For ties, you need to look at 100% silk. Once you are in a decent material, just pick a pattern, cut and pricepoint you can live with.

Mark

tru_blue 03-12-2013 03:36 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lowside67 (Post 8183053)
Ties, like every article of clothing, are priced on the basis of materials, workmanship, and the markup they can get away with (the name). Everybody can tell cheap clothes, even if they can't tell you how they know they are cheap - a poor fit, obviously inferior materials, poor workmanship, etc.

For ties, you need to look at 100% silk. Once you are in a decent material, just pick a pattern, cut and pricepoint you can live with.

Mark

alot of them say they are made with 100% silk including the ties for $20.

are there different types of silk though?