REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-off-topic-current-events_50/)
-   -   Tenant Insurance? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/685983-tenant-insurance.html)

6o4__boi 07-06-2013 05:32 PM

Tenant Insurance?

Hey guys,

Figured i'd post this here cus there's more traffic. I recently moved out from home and into an apartment, it's my first time renting and I have no idea about home/tenant insurance.
Just wondering what places would be ideal and roughly how much a month am I looking at? What other things should I keep in mind when purchasing tenant insurance? Some insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

quasi 07-06-2013 05:34 PM

I like BCAA for insurance, don't have to be a member to purchase. When we had our townhouse I think we paid between 200-300 a year, that was a 3 bedroom townhome 7 or 8 years ago. Actually that was full coverage for the interior, we owned the place. I think tenant insurance would even be cheaper?

6o4__boi 07-06-2013 05:37 PM

BCAA seems to be the go-to place. I checked out their site but that was before I knew about the specifics of the apartment (ie. smoke detectors, type of construction material used etc.) so I couldn't really get an accurate quote. I may head down to one of their outlets sometime and see from there.

hud 91gt 07-06-2013 07:52 PM

I've never paid more then about $25 a month for an apartment in all the places i've lived across the country. The rate goes up with the amount of valuables you own. I think the base is $35,000 coverage.

dinosaur 07-06-2013 08:01 PM

do it. it is dirt cheap.

any insurance place will have the same rates...different insurance companies will vary by a couple dollars maybe.