REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   #RevsceneVLS General Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/revscenevls-general-chat_14/)
-   -   misleading job pay ad (https://www.revscene.net/forums/702966-misleading-job-pay-ad.html)

mustang766 04-20-2015 08:07 PM

misleading job pay ad

went to interview and got call for job offer doing marketing assistant work. the job ad noted it pays 15 hour but I got job offer call and he said he like hire me but 12 hour.it didn't say 12-15 but just 15. The thing is I can do everything the job description noted and plus I got a diploma in business from local college.
is this legal and what would you do. take up the job or ask for the hourly wage noted or ask for more money. the location of the job would take me approx. one hour to get there ,and 3 transfers via bus , skytrain and bus

he did say the job be re-locating to more central location in few months but who nows as he lied in job ad will be lie about relocation too.maybe there will be no relocation

kross9 04-20-2015 08:19 PM

completely legal. tbh they can pay you what ever they feel you are worth, which is probably what they did. Or it could also be that you start at 12$/hr for your probationary period too

another thing during the job offer interview is your pay rate they will low ball you and hope you say yes as well w.o saying you want more. which is again another thing they did to you.

SkinnyPupp 04-20-2015 08:33 PM

Tell them you want $15 and won't work for less

tiger_handheld 04-20-2015 09:13 PM

Why don't you ask the following question

"your ad said $15/hr but your offer letter say 12/hr. why the discrepency?"

mustang766 04-20-2015 09:24 PM

They also.new startup company with like 5 employees im.guess not much growth

sdubfid 04-20-2015 09:29 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by mustang766 (Post 8626897)
They also.new startup company with like 5 employees im.guess not much growth