REVscene - Vancouver Automotive Forum


Welcome to the REVscene Automotive Forum forums.

Registration is Free!You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! The banners on the left side and below do not show for registered users!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.


Go Back   REVscene Automotive Forum > Automotive Chat > Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events

Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events The off-topic forum for Vancouver, funnies, non-auto centered discussions, WORK SAFE. While the rules are more relaxed here, there are still rules. Please refer to sticky thread in this forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2016, 01:45 PM   #101
OMGWTFBBQ is a common word I say everyday
 
lilaznviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: vancouver
Posts: 5,466
Thanked 965 Times in 332 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by syee View Post
Saw this on RFD today. Seems like a good deal since this is pretty much what I pay for Internet 30 outside of the promo period. I think this is what guurl is referring to?

I may look into this since it'll be a huge jump in speed for not a whole lot of additional cost.

Upgrade To Shaw WideOpen Internet | 150 Mbps Speeds, High Speed Internet + 1TB Data
looks like the plan is good for the first year i save 15 dollars per month then after words i have to pay way more. I guess i'll stick with my old 50mpbs + personal tv for $131/month since the broadband 50 is good enough for me.
Advertisement
lilaznviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 09:40 AM   #102
Diagonally parked in a parallel universe
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: vancouver
Posts: 1,462
Thanked 318 Times in 147 Posts
After using shaw for 11 years I switched to Telus at my new place
Wish I did this sooner. It's about the same price shaw and Telus but customer experience so far is much better, handling your online account is like night and day difference and how your tv box functions is way smother. The options on your cable box how you can customize everything it's like i have gone into the future with Telus.
VR6GTI is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 10:09 AM   #103
reads most threads with his pants around his ankles, especially in the Forced Induction forum.
 
Mr.HappySilp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 9,176
Thanked 1,524 Times in 771 Posts
Thinking of switching Telus. i live around the BCIT around just wondering if anyone living there can tell me if the their service is good in that area?
Mr.HappySilp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 10:10 AM   #104
Even when im right, revscene.net is still right!
 
Ludepower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,346
Thanked 570 Times in 172 Posts
telus is better. i dont have to worry about lag at 5pm when everyone is home slowing down the internet.
Ludepower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 01:29 PM   #105
2x Variable Nockenwellen Steuerung
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: N49.2 W122.1
Posts: 6,179
Thanked 1,175 Times in 705 Posts
Get both services in your house to overlap so you can compare apples with apples. Go with the one that is quickest (obviously).

These days your own router can be a bottleneck too, especially if you run a VPN. Even an i3 that is 3-4 years old will outrun most routers. I repurpose some old servers retired from work (no fans of course). Laptops with ExpressCard slots can do that same job too. I use PfSense, but Sophos makes a free one that also include their Virus scanning software built in. Which is useful especially if you get guests who bring in devices that are rooted with apps side loaded and god knows what had been done with them.

Numbers don?t lie?it?s time to build your own router | Ars Technica

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.HappySilp View Post
Thinking of switching Telus. i live around the BCIT around just wondering if anyone living there can tell me if the their service is good in that area?

Last edited by godwin; 07-16-2016 at 02:53 PM.
godwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 05:05 AM   #106
I Will not Admit my Addiction to RS
 
noTirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 596
Thanked 81 Times in 51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilaznviper View Post
looks like the plan is good for the first year i save 15 dollars per month then after words i have to pay way more. I guess i'll stick with my old 50mpbs + personal tv for $131/month since the broadband 50 is good enough for me.
Actually anyone on Broadband 50+/Internet 60+ would save money by switching to this new plan. With the rate increase coming this August, you can shave a few bucks off. I work at Shaw, but I'm not a phone rep.
noTirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 07:51 AM   #107
Willing to sell body for a few minutes on RS
 
quasi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Cloverdale
Posts: 10,074
Thanked 2,119 Times in 769 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by noTirl View Post
Actually anyone on Broadband 50+/Internet 60+ would save money by switching to this new plan. With the rate increase coming this August, you can shave a few bucks off. I work at Shaw, but I'm not a phone rep.
Is this available for current shaw clients? I'm currently being charged $60 for popular TV & $88 for Broadband $50 this looks like it would save me money.
__________________



“The world ain't all sunshine and rainbows. It's a very mean and nasty place... and I don´t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently, if you let it. You, me or nobody, is gonna hit as hard as life. But ain't about how hard you hit... It's about how hard you can get hit, and keep moving forward... how much you can take, and keep moving forward. That´s how winning is done. Now, if you know what you worth, go out and get what you worth.” - Rocky Balboa
quasi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 07:55 AM   #108
I Will not Admit my Addiction to RS
 
noTirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 596
Thanked 81 Times in 51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by quasi View Post
Is this available for current shaw clients? I'm currently being charged $60 for popular TV & $88 for Broadband $50 this looks like it would save me money.
Yep, current customers can get on it too. 79.90 year 1 and 2 for current customers. You can pick internet or internet+tv contract. Be specific when you do cause they might sign you up for both incase you only wanted the internet contract.
noTirl is offline   Reply With Quote
This post thanked by:
Old 07-20-2016, 01:51 PM   #109
Cool beans bro
 
JordanLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,761
Thanked 1,030 Times in 225 Posts
Just phoned into Telus Retention to try to match it. Rep stated that Shaw offering 150 could be a pipe dream as the fine details do state "up to 150mbps".

Got offered Telus 50 w/ Optik 4K box ($45 a month) for a year.

All in, Optik TV, internet, and home phone for 100+ tax isnt bad. After a year it does go up to regular pricing but its still cheaper than what were paying now for Telus 25 bundle which is around $190 a month.
JordanLee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:17 PM   #110
I subscribe to the Revscene NWS thread(s)
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,481
Thanked 251 Times in 196 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JordanLee View Post
Just phoned into Telus Retention to try to match it. Rep stated that Shaw offering 150 could be a pipe dream as the fine details do state "up to 150mbps".
That's a pretty bold statement for them to make. I'm on Internet30 right now and I can consistently get 4MB/s (which is 32Mb/s) on Shaw. Telus likes to throw out the node over saturation as a downside, but I have to admit, they've made huge strides from when I was last with Shaw 5 years ago and my Internet was pretty much unusable in the evenings.

There's other aspects of Shaw that bug me though - which is why I'm waiting for Telus Fibre to make it's appearance in my area in August before I decide to jump on the Internet150 bandwagon and lock myself in to a 2 year contract with Shaw.
syee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:24 PM   #111
I *Fwap* *Fwap* *Fwap* to RS
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,506
Thanked 523 Times in 289 Posts
You can honestly say the same thing with Telus 50mps too. It'll be "Up to 50mbps" but I'd be getting 20-25mbps lol
guurl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 02:36 PM   #112
Cool beans bro
 
JordanLee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,761
Thanked 1,030 Times in 225 Posts
^ I just noticed that on the website too, states 20-50. Man what a terrible range haha
JordanLee is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 05:55 PM   #113
Need my Daily Fix of RS
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: burnaby
Posts: 282
Thanked 103 Times in 48 Posts
http://imgur.com/61VebNi

LOl at people listening to telus rep
RickyTan3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 10:11 PM   #114
i like gifs
 
Ch28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: imgur
Posts: 25,781
Thanked 6,505 Times in 2,191 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.HappySilp View Post
Thinking of switching Telus. i live around the BCIT around just wondering if anyone living there can tell me if the their service is good in that area?
We were on Telus for a few years like a year or two ago and their speed was always consistent with what was advertised.
Ch28 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 09:06 PM   #115
Ebisu Boss
 
Obsideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Side
Posts: 3,262
Thanked 1,204 Times in 452 Posts
Moving into the a condo for the first time later this year. Is there usually a "preferred" ISP that each building uses? I emailed the strata agent and he said "Telus should be a good bet" which basically tells me nothing.
I was hoping that the building would be setup with Novus but no dice.
Do I just call any company (Shaw/Telus) and have them come in and hook it up?
I probably won't be getting any TV/Phone package unless there is a super sweet deal.
I only need internet, and not too fussy on cap or speed as I mostly just YouTube and play some games here and there. No hardcore downloading/uploading (maybe 1 movie a month).
I prefer consistency and reliability over high speeds. I don't want to be lagging out mid-game cuz internet craps out.
The building is by Yukon and W. 2nd, what do you guys suggest I do?
TIA
Obsideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 09:11 PM   #116
#deephouse
 
knight604's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 4,187
Thanked 4,695 Times in 1,239 Posts
Novus if they have it.
__________________
/// x AMG
knight604 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 09:59 PM   #117
Diagonally parked in a parallel universe
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,478
Thanked 1,494 Times in 412 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JordanLee View Post
Just phoned into Telus Retention to try to match it. Rep stated that Shaw offering 150 could be a pipe dream as the fine details do state "up to 150mbps".

Got offered Telus 50 w/ Optik 4K box ($45 a month) for a year.

All in, Optik TV, internet, and home phone for 100+ tax isnt bad. After a year it does go up to regular pricing but its still cheaper than what were paying now for Telus 25 bundle which is around $190 a month.
my internet 150 speedtest:


Quote:
Originally Posted by knight604 View Post
Novus if they have it.
+1 for novus
__________________
(•_•)
( •_•)>⌐■-■
(⌐■_■)
SoNaRWaVe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:22 PM   #118
I help report spam so I got this! <--
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 2,452
Thanked 895 Times in 408 Posts
Shaw 150 is solid. Telus just doesn't hold a candle right now. Their Fiber offering isnt even available to most people.

I upgraded to Shaw 150 from their 60 plan.

Obsideon i would check with Novus. You can look up bbuildings that have service on their website.
Nlkko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:53 PM   #119
Captain Happy Bubble is my Homeboy
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 323
Thanked 39 Times in 29 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ludepower View Post
telus is better. i dont have to worry about lag at 5pm when everyone is home slowing down the internet.
WOW...talk about living in the past..time to move on buddy.
Shaws pipeline is way bigger than you think. Offering 150 to everyone isn't hitting anywhere close to saturation nowdays.
The same pipeline will also be used for the next X1 system from Comcast for retreiving your TV contents off cloud.
Jonydakiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2016, 12:22 PM   #120
I Will not Admit my Addiction to RS
 
noTirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: vancouver
Posts: 596
Thanked 81 Times in 51 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Obsideon View Post
Moving into the a condo for the first time later this year. Is there usually a "preferred" ISP that each building uses? I emailed the strata agent and he said "Telus should be a good bet" which basically tells me nothing.
I was hoping that the building would be setup with Novus but no dice.
Do I just call any company (Shaw/Telus) and have them come in and hook it up?
I probably won't be getting any TV/Phone package unless there is a super sweet deal.
I only need internet, and not too fussy on cap or speed as I mostly just YouTube and play some games here and there. No hardcore downloading/uploading (maybe 1 movie a month).
I prefer consistency and reliability over high speeds. I don't want to be lagging out mid-game cuz internet craps out.
The building is by Yukon and W. 2nd, what do you guys suggest I do?
TIA
I've used both in the last 2 years and they're pretty much the same from an end users point. This may be cause of the neighborhood I'm in but not much congestion between the two. When I did have problems they were both able to get an appointment within the week. Had my modems swapped a few times just cause I wanted the newest ones.

I do work at Shaw now which is why I've used both. I know ours has a slightly higher ping than Telus sometimes, but its within single digit difference. If you need more info on what Shaw has let me know.
noTirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2016, 03:53 PM   #121
Ebisu Boss
 
Obsideon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Side
Posts: 3,262
Thanked 1,204 Times in 452 Posts
Already checked, no Novus in my building
Obsideon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 05:02 PM   #122
GO FLAMES GO
 
Tegra_Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kamloops
Posts: 4,277
Thanked 2,041 Times in 607 Posts
thanks for the info! switched to shaw 150 for 79$ awesome deal!

__________________
2013 Toyota Tundra CrewMax TRD Offroad *CURRENT*
2005 Nissan Xterra SE *SOLD*
1991 Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-X Widebody *SOLD*
2001 Acura Integra Type-R *SOLD*
Club-Integra.net OG
Your Friendly Neighborhood Firefighter
Tegra_Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2016, 09:50 PM   #123
CRS
ninja edits your posts without your knowledge
 
CRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 14,329
Thanked 5,431 Times in 1,468 Posts
Also switched.



Are you guys bridging through your own router or directly into the modem?
CRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 09:13 AM   #124
GO FLAMES GO
 
Tegra_Devil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kamloops
Posts: 4,277
Thanked 2,041 Times in 607 Posts
Using shaws hitron modem only
__________________
2013 Toyota Tundra CrewMax TRD Offroad *CURRENT*
2005 Nissan Xterra SE *SOLD*
1991 Toyota Hilux Surf SSR-X Widebody *SOLD*
2001 Acura Integra Type-R *SOLD*
Club-Integra.net OG
Your Friendly Neighborhood Firefighter
Tegra_Devil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2016, 03:37 PM   #125
CRS
ninja edits your posts without your knowledge
 
CRS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 14,329
Thanked 5,431 Times in 1,468 Posts


Bridged the modem and today's speed is much better.
CRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Revscene.net cannot be held accountable for the actions of its members nor does the opinions of the members represent that of Revscene.net