REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Sports, Sports Entertainment and Fitness (https://www.revscene.net/forums/sports-sports-entertainment-fitness_35/)
-   -   Any runners in here? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/560299-any-runners-here.html)

Tapioca 01-12-2009 12:12 PM

Any runners in here?

I know most people in here are into bulking up, MMA, etc., but I was wondering if there's anyone into running? Does anyone here run races on a regular basis - 10Ks, half-marathons, and/or full marathons?

I've been running off and on for the last 3 years and I've run a handful of 10Ks. I was planning on training for a half-marathon starting in the fall and working my way up to the Vancouver event in May, but I've been sidelined with an injury (will be seeing my podiatrist for custom heel supports soon). Right now, I can run a 10K in just over 50 minutes, but I'd like to improve on that time, hopefully getting a 10K time into the high 40s. I've been strengthening my core with some stability ball exercises, but I've been thinking about other options too like yoga. I've also started to do some work on my stregthening my thighs, glutes, and hamstrings.

Can anyone recommend any tips? I'm all ears!

Shred_Head 01-12-2009 02:09 PM

I'm training for the Vancouver Marathon this year, but just the Half. It'll be my first half marathon.

But really if you run tempo runs twice a week you should shave off some time. I'm running about 53 min for 10km, and in the fall I was trying out doing sprint intervals in between laps.

Really, I would run a few laps to warm up. And then do 100m sprints with 100m really light jog in between sprints.

My friend's parents run marathons all the time. I've been picking their brains about it and they just tell me the same thing over and over again:
- Wind sprints
- Tempo runs
- Start training well before the event
- Lunges and squats