REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Automotive Detailing & Car Care Tech (https://www.revscene.net/forums/automotive-detailing-car-care-tech_49/)
-   -   Polishers, parts, and pads... (https://www.revscene.net/forums/577126-polishers-parts-pads.html)

Supafly 05-27-2009 02:06 PM

Polishers, parts, and pads...

okay, i have a few questions about polishing, sealants and waxes as i am a complete noob in this area.

Im about to pick up a PC7424, is there anything i should worry about? pros/cons?

I know there is a variety of pads ranging from diffrent colours and pore count...which pad and at what speed should i start the process with?
My goal is to do a mild polish, followed by a sealant and possible layer of wax.

How many pads should i buy and what sizes?

what is a good polishing compound should i start with?... some my current cars have a ceramic clearcoat on them, is there a special compound i should get?...what do i use on non-ceramic clearcoat?

how often do you change pads when they get used?...do you throw it out as soon as you change panels?...how many pads do you end up throwing out at the end of the day?

sorry if i ask to many questions, but just want to know the basics before i spend some cash and a whole day on a project.

thanks

!Yaminashi 05-27-2009 03:57 PM

The only negative to using a PC compared to other machines out there, is that it takes more time, however a HUGE positive is that its almost impossible to damage your paint with a porter cable.

As for pads, there are tons of options available for you. I, myself just detailed my car about 1.5 months ago, I used lake country pads.

I think in general for most manufacturers, the white pads are light cut pads, orange is mild, and I think yellow is for a heavy cut? I think pad size is totally up to you. However I've read that smaller pads minimize polishing time? Dont quote me on that though..