REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Police Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/police-forum_143/)
-   -   Ticket adjournment question, approximate time to next date or selective date? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/596530-ticket-adjournment-question-approximate-time-next-date-selective-date.html)

JHatta 11-16-2009 08:45 PM

Ticket adjournment question, approximate time to next date or selective date?

I have a hearing in January, but I will be going to school at the time. I was going to adjourn the hearing for a later date, and email/call/mail a letter in stating that I was a student and would be unable to make the date.

From past experiences, how long down the road is the hearing adjourned to? I have read (on this forum) approximately 3 months. And since I am only allowed allowed one adjournment, it would place my hearing right during final exams and my attendance would be mandatory or I would plead guilty.

I am able to select my next hearing date? Obviously, my interests are not considered by BC provincial court whatsoever, but am I able to ask them to move it between June-August, when I will not be in school?

My last option is to just go to court in January, and miss school. Since it is during the beginning of the semester, it won't make as much difference as missing a day during final exams.

Thanks.

Bath Tussue 11-16-2009 08:54 PM

Based on my experence, it can range from a few months to over 6 months.

CRS 11-16-2009 09:08 PM

Personally, I'd take that one day off school.

Honestly, if you can't miss one sick day from school and keep up with your course load, you really shouldn't be in post secondary.

But like you said, early in the sem, things shouldn't be too tough. It is only 1 day after all or even half a day.

JHatta 11-16-2009 09:24 PM

yah i'm a dumbass, two thirds retarded due to improper birthing I came out sideways...

anyways, back to my question.

zulutango 11-17-2009 05:17 AM