REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Honda / Acura Tech Resources (https://www.revscene.net/forums/honda-acura-tech-resources_310/)
-   -   civic or prelude? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/608215-civic-prelude.html)

toehead 03-09-2010 03:56 PM

civic or prelude?

I'm pretty new to the whole car modding thing but i've been doing my research for a while and i'd like some advice. Without having a clue what i was doing i bought a 99 civic si in white rock about a year and a half ago thinking that it would be the same motor as the one that was offered in the usdm si model. so after that big letdown i started researching the d16y8 and bought a few bolt ons. i'm at the point now where the next step performance wise is to either boost or do a swap. i'm not a huge fan of swapping cause why not just buy a better car, that is unless you've invested tonnes into the body etc.
so on that note i was thinking about buying a prelude cause i think they look like sex on wheels and i've heard promising things about h22/f22 frankenmotors. I also absolutely love boost, turbos in particular, so after buying said prelude the plan would be to boost it.
I know the two favored options aren't even close to equal in price but if any of you have tried either option how would you rate the satisfaction. I'm not looking to shatter any records with these cars, just knock my socks off every once in a while.

boibuddha 03-10-2010 05:14 PM

Switching to the prelude of a similar year, you're gaining close to 100 more horses than the civic. That would be a decent kick in the pants for a while. You might even be content with that power.

Picking between the two, it really depends on your attachment to your car. If you cannot leave her, then boost her up as parts are cheap. Without changing internals, the limits of a boosted D16 are similar to the N/A H22, power-wise.

Lowered_Klass 03-11-2010 04:27 PM