REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   icbc claim Q (https://www.revscene.net/forums/614696-icbc-claim-q.html)

03c0upe 05-14-2010 09:49 AM

icbc claim Q

I got into an car accident few months back, adjuster lowballed and offered 4gs and says thats fair. I told her i dont think thats a fair settlement. She reply's and asks what you think is fair. So i told her im not experienced to know whats a good settlement maybe ill ask a lawyer. Obviously she doesn't want me to get a lawyer and says lawyers take years to settle and can take up to 30% of your money.

So can i call attorney offices and ask them over the phone since they offer free consultations? Or Should i just counter with a really high settlement? Or bluff and say this is what a lawyer said i should be getting?

Uncle Benz 05-14-2010 10:13 AM

I have a bit of personal injury law practice experience, and I can tell you a lawyer will not be able to tell you "this is what you should be getting" over a phone call. If a lawyer is telling you a number over the phone, I wouldn't go there.

Every case is different, everyone's circumstances are different, and injuries affect every ones bodies in different ways, and the nature of your work, school, along with your age and sex plays a factor.

Keep in mind the Adjuster's job is to pay out as little as possible and settle as quickly as possible so they can move on to the next file.

Generally lawyers are worth the 30% more they take, because they can usually get you much more than the initial offer. The years to settle bit is also correct, but that's just because it's a work in progress to build up the file so that it can be settled for a fair amount with everything factored into it.

Since many lawyers offer free consultations, I'd suggest you go in and talk to them in person.

Good Luck

fishing666 05-14-2010 11:02 AM