REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Automotive Detailing & Car Care Tech (https://www.revscene.net/forums/automotive-detailing-car-care-tech_49/)
-   -   Absolute noob. (https://www.revscene.net/forums/620629-absolute-noob.html)

chouchou 07-25-2010 01:39 AM

Absolute noob.

figured this is the right place to ask..

I have sitting in my garage a boring '06 TL in anthracite metallic.
Lately i've been getting the idea to give it a good wash and follow up with a waxing, yet i am at a complete loss as where to begin.

some questions that come to mind:
- keeping in mind a budget that can't get out of hand, what kind of products (and where to buy them) would i need to purchase for an effective job? doesn't need to be spectacular, but a decent looking shine would be great.
- steps? i hear many people talk about claybar etc..

and any other tips would be great.. --> optimal weather condition to do it in etc.

cheers!

ps. what method do you guys use when hand-washing your cars?

Lageno 07-25-2010 09:42 AM

Two bucket method for hand washing. One to wash the dirt off into, and one for your car soap.
You can buy pretty much anything you need from www.autowerkesexclusive.com
I'd go get some Mothers claybar from Canadian tire or something, it's simple to use:
Just rip one of the bars in half (one of the two packs it comes with is way to much for one car) and kneed it out into a pad. Fold it up and re-kneed the bar after each panel or so, or when you can see it's becoming contaminated enough that you think it might need it.

Then a nice sealant and wax from Autowerkes Exclusive would do you well, like the Blackfire wax/sealant combo, that's what I have.
A polish would be great to, if you apply it after the claybar, but before the sealant and wax.