REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   playing racing game will make you a better driver (https://www.revscene.net/forums/625241-playing-racing-game-will-make-you-better-driver.html)

supers7n 09-19-2010 02:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by JSALES (Post 7110480)
good thing i've been playing gran turismo since i was 8 yrs old haha

I used to play a lot when I was a little kid too

I sucked really bad though, I remember when I was tuning my car, it said negative chamber made you corner faster (Or something like that) so my car had max negative chamber and I never figured out why my car slid around so much.

But when I got older I got way better, cant wait for GT5

Dragon-88 09-19-2010 02:21 AM

www.lfs.net

Best driving game to learn.. You can play in car parks and drift around. Get a G27 and teach people stick.. Real clutch simulation and all.. Try the demo if you like it I guarantee you will like the full vr. Plus its online even on demo... Has mix of street race, sport,go cart, GT and F1... Plus cops & robbers insim available in full vr.

Rich Sandor 09-19-2010 08:10 PM

Racing *sims* (not arcade games) do make you a better driver. You can learn weight transfer, understeer/oversteer and skid recovery quite well through racing sims.

However, there are various factors which build to make someone a "good" driver, not just car control.

Unfortunately, there are plenty of drivers who have excellent car control skills, but are too aggressive and take stupid risks.

JSALES 09-19-2010 08:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hk20000 (Post 7110299)
who has ordered GT5 Collector's Edition?? :)

wonder if it's worth paying the extra money for

RE-Jo 09-20-2010 08:23 AM

I also pre-ordered GT5:CE~
The die cast model along is suppose to be worth around $75 if you were to buy it separately.

hk20000 09-20-2010 08:28 AM

^+1