REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   HealthCare & Wellness (https://www.revscene.net/forums/healthcare-wellness_269/)
-   -   Eye Exams (https://www.revscene.net/forums/650753-eye-exams.html)

twitchyzero 07-31-2011 06:23 PM

Eye Exams

okay I understand any sort of health related exams are really important and no one should ever cheap out on them. This is somewhat of a rant.

The last time I did them two years back was $75.

Now my doctor is charging $85..okay a bit of price hike over 2 years no biggie.

They asked me if I wanted contacts, then they said prescription for contact lenses will be $125.

WTF? It was always the same prescription regardless of glasses or contacts...so why's there an extra $40 now. It's not like they did any extra steps to see what contacts fit me better and I've been wearing em for many years.

Is this now standard practice for optometrist?

xmisstrinh 07-31-2011 09:08 PM

Is he giving you samples along with the eye exam? If not, then it should be no different. I got my eye exam done recently and it was only $85, plus my doc gave me three pairs of sample lenses. I can give you his contact info if you like =]

racerman88 07-31-2011 10:33 PM

Who do you go to?

twitchyzero 07-31-2011 11:34 PM

it's an asian place by metrotown T&T and it's super busy...take a wild guess :troll:

LSF22 07-31-2011 11:37 PM

^ C U vision?

v.Rossi 08-01-2011 07:58 AM

The standard price for eye exams is around ~$90 tax in. If you're paying anything over $100 you're being overcharged regardless of what optometrist office.

That's for the eye exam alone so you can get your prescription, so excluding anything to do with contact fitment and/or consultation. However, there office their ways can't really bargain on their price I'd just switch over. Some will even order you contact samples after, 1-2 week disposables free of charge.

I know for a fact IRIS optometry is overpriced.
Posted via RS Mobile