REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-off-topic-current-events_50/)
-   -   Canada Post - Collect On Delivery (https://www.revscene.net/forums/659464-canada-post-collect-delivery.html)

ForeverYours 12-13-2011 12:09 AM

Canada Post - Collect On Delivery

Hello Revscene members, forum newbie here. (If this is in the wrong section mods please move).

Has anyone had any experience with collect on delivery via Canada Post?
I'm trying to sell something to someone in Victoria using COD. Does this method seem secure and reliable?

Thanks in advance
Posted via RS Mobile

- kT 12-13-2011 12:19 AM

i may be misinformed, but to my knowledge, COD fees are fees charged by the shipping company to compensate for brokerage, custom clearance and etc. in otherwords, COD fees are a way for the shipping company to make money off you - since you've already paid the seller for shipping (or vice versa, if you're the buyer you've paid for the shipping fees)

bearing that in mind, COD fees are not charged by Canada Post, nor by USPS (which is canada post once the parcel comes into canada). i have been charged brokerage fees by UPS, FedEx and DHL. strangely enough it doesn't seem to follow a trend (i'm sure it does, but i randomly get charged sometimes for COD's and sometimes i don't). unrelated to the value of the item, whether i pick it up myself or it gets delivered to my door, etc.

if you're talking about canada post collecting money for the product itself once the item is delivered, then i have no experience. just thought i'd help by sharing what i know

hope that helps

jeedee 12-13-2011 12:36 AM

COD isn't a type of shipping service.

COD is when you get something shipped to YOU, and you have to pay those fees.