REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   2000 BMW 540i - Maintenance & Reliability Questions (https://www.revscene.net/forums/671984-2000-bmw-540i-maintenance-reliability-questions.html)

JustJunMC 08-07-2012 10:15 PM

2000 BMW 540i - Maintenance & Reliability Questions

Hi Guys

Noob Here

So I am about to buy this car, an E39...

I am getting a PPI done this friday at Nixon, as it was recommended on here and on various google searches and some indie dealers

I read that there is specific maintenance needed on this car... Can anyone please let me know what to do on a regular basis?

I am also wondering about reliability with the vehicle.

I drove it, and BMW is fantastic driving, but I always hear hater and trash talk from Lexus guys.

I did check a Lexus but I did not like the handling and performance, but the salesman kept bad mouthing BMW, stating the tranny would go on the car or something and kept going on and on about Lexus reliability. I test drove a 1999 GS400. The guy really messed up the interior of the Lexus with cheesy and cheap looking woodgrain that was glued on. The engine is strong, but the car cant really handle and perform as well as a BMW

The BMW feels pretty solid to me and a mechanic will check it, but what are yalls opinions and experiences?

What are the maintenance and costs?

Where are the best places to get parts?

I dont mind paying a little more for maintenance than usual, like if its only a 30% or so difference, because I really enjoy driving the 540i, however, my experience is noob with the car. Any tips will be thanked greatly...

BTW the car is pretty bad ass

Bahhbeehhaaaa 08-07-2012 10:24 PM

welcome to revscene =]
This pretty much sums up most of the problems.

JustJunMC 08-07-2012 10:27 PM

Thanks Man... I mma check the video

JustJunMC 08-07-2012 10:30 PM

LMAO WOW