REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-off-topic-current-events_50/)
-   -   5-Yr-Old Pool Prodigy (https://www.revscene.net/forums/676991-5-yr-old-pool-prodigy.html)

tiger_handheld 11-23-2012 11:23 AM

5-Yr-Old Pool Prodigy

FishTaco 11-23-2012 02:18 PM

This is a really cool story.

I started playing pool when i was 8 years old on my grandfathers old pool table. The kind of table where the pockets are really sharp and unforgiving, snooker sized balls, old slow felt, and crap cues.

In 1995, I was living in Nelson, BC. My parents owned the pool hall on Baker. Every day I would play pool after school. I was at the hall any chance i got. At the age of 12, I entered a tournament which my parents would hold once a month. People would come to play from like Trail, Castlegar, etc. I ended up placing 2nd in the tournament out of 50. The winner was an older gentleman and a hustler on the table named Kent. After the tournament, he asked my parents if he could be my trainer as he saw that I had potential to go pro.

Shortly after, the town of Nelson closed down a college and the town dried up for a bit. My parents had to close the business and declared bankruptcy and I spent the next 5 years moving around. I always wonder what would have been if I was able to continue to play.

On another note, the movie Pool hall Junkies is awesome if you guys like playing pool. It's one of those movies that never became popular but it's great.

RicePanda 11-23-2012 03:14 PM

That was amazing.

Also I second Poolhall Junkies. If you watch it for an amazing story or amazing acting, it might fall short; but if you watch it for pool and Christoper Walken, it's great.

iambuRnz 11-23-2012 03:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by FishTaco (Post 8089054)