REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-off-topic-current-events_50/)
-   -   Recommend a Venue (Wedding) (https://www.revscene.net/forums/698684-recommend-venue-wedding.html)

Marshall Placid 10-07-2014 01:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by westopher (Post 8539515)
DON'T rent a hall/wedding venue and hire caterers. Truthfully (this is coming from a chef who has catered many events) caterers absolutely fuck you in the ass. They shove garbage food in your face and charge you 10k for it.

Quoted for truth.

Been to a lot of weddings.

Caterers, for whatever reason, just don't cut it.

Get a location that also has its own restaurant/kitchen/etc.

------------

With that said... I have some experience on hosting private events, helping to organize some weddings for my friends:

Here are some suggestions based on your capacity requirements:

1- Spanish Hall/Room in Hotel Georgia Rosewood (you can request food from Hawksworth or the default Hotel Kitchen) - Stephanie Lou-Hing (if she still works as the organizer there) is FABULOUS.
2- Blue Water - the entire main room +++ the Pacific room joined will give you 170 to 220 people, but expect to pay through the roof because you'll be basically paying for the restaurants entire night's revenues, so it will be $20k to $30k at least (I inquired a while ago)... Stefan (sp.) is a prompt and Tara (who moved on) was on point in service.
3-Market by Jean Georges has an outdoor terrace option for about 80 people and an adjoining room (If I remember, was named "Conrad or Concord, forgot" room) can host another 100 people. The terrace can be enclosed if it rains. The food is good as well, and it's the 6th floor... so quite the ambiance... You don't have to buyout the restaurant's table space. They use Shangri-La's meeting rooms on the 6th floor for this +++ Market by Jean Georges food.