REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Euro Tech Resources (https://www.revscene.net/forums/euro-tech-resources_318/)
-   -   B7 A4 2.0T chip options (https://www.revscene.net/forums/704820-b7-a4-2-0t-chip-options.html)

freakshow 08-12-2015 09:18 AM

B7 A4 2.0T chip options

I'm pretty new to the Audi world, so just have a few questions regarding chips.

1) Are there any long-term negative impacts with getting a basic tune if everything else will stay stock?
2) Which tune is the most recommended for the B7 2.0T platform? I've heard great things about APR and JHM.
3) If I end up going crazy and actually upgrade the turbo (K04?), will my tunes be rendered completely useless? or do most companies allow you to switch a to another tune for the new setup?

Traum 08-12-2015 10:41 AM

I have been out of the VW scene for a long time, but from my (probably now ancient) experience with the VW MkIV 1.8T cars, I'd say an ECU tune involving a VW to have the following effect:

1) Generally, the core engine components (on a VW) are very stout, and big name ECU tuners know their stuff well enough that their tunes are almost always very safe (as far as long term reliability is concerned). However, accessory components may see accelerated wear / failure rates and require more frequent replacing / upgrading -- think valves and piping here.

On top of that, early tunes -- ie. those that are released soon after the car became available -- tend to need a bit of time to mature and get everything right. Given your car is a B7 2.0T, that engine has been around for a LONG time, so I don't anticipate any major issues for you. Still, I'd watch out for boost spikes.

2) IMO, you can't go wrong with APR. They are not the only reputable game in town, but in the VW scene, you really can't go wrong with APR. GIAC is potentially another option, and I used to like Neuspeed as well.