REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Miscellaneous Tech & Tools (https://www.revscene.net/forums/miscellaneous-tech-tools_193/)
-   -   School me on cordless power tools! (https://www.revscene.net/forums/707860-school-me-cordless-power-tools.html)

320icar 03-01-2016 12:15 PM

School me on cordless power tools!

alright guys. i know there are a lot of tool geeks on this site and i definitely want some input on experience and expertise. i have a cordless 18v (i think) drill that has done its duty for the last ~5 years. some random "kawasaki" brand from Costco. an old heavy ni-cad battery that gets hot and doesn't hold a charge all too well anymore. the time has come to put it out to pasture.

im looking to replace it with a good cordless powertool. now i am NOT a professional, i am NOT a contractor, and i dont do too much home improvement stuff (as im a renter). but this does not mean i will settle for some canadian tire house brand.

most common brands i see around are makita, ryobi, milwakee, deWalt, ridgit, and then of course your house brands like mastercraft or whatever the princess auto brand is. powerfist i think.

i guess the easiest way to explain what i would be looking for is some bullet points. i'd love to get a few different tools but im in no rush to buy them all at once. im fine waiting for sales and special offers. i just need the tools where if i need to build a shelf, no problem. drill some holes in wood, sheetmetal, whatever. ive been slowly building up my arsenal for a future garage, and this would be no exception.

- something that is good value for money. i do not need professional grade, but i want a quality product for the money that "wont leave me stranded", if you will.
- lithium ion battery is a must.
- id be looking for a brand that sells drills, impact driver, possibly also things like a belt sander or the 5" circular saws.
- stay the same brand so batteries are interchangeable