REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   2003 Honda Accord LX I4 vs 2019 Civic 2.0 LX (https://www.revscene.net/forums/715809-2003-honda-accord-lx-i4-vs-2019-civic-2-0-lx.html)

anxiety 01-23-2019 11:36 PM

2003 Honda Accord LX I4 vs 2019 Civic 2.0 LX

Hey guys, this is gonna be a long post, please let me share my thought/rant. If you don't want to read my months long car buying process, then skip to after where the line separates.

My car got totaled, so I have been driving my friend's 2003 Honda Accord I4 for a few months. I love the car. It's big, and comfortable but not soft, it takes corner with confidence for a relatively big car, engine is smooth and quiet for a 4 banger.

I test drove all of the cars in the compact segment, closest thing that resembles the 03 Accord in terms of ride, handling, NVH, and the smoothness of the engine is the new Civic. All of the other compact cars just didn't drive good after stepping out of the 7th gen Accord.

Is it in my feels? or has anyone felt what I did? It's crazy how a new car can't match pretty much anything in terms of driving dynamics that's from 2003 (Albeit I'm comparing an old mid-size vs new compact segment)

Like I said, The Civic is the closest thing to the Accord that I'm daily driving, It got it down in terms of NVH, and the interior space. Car rides smoother than the Accord, it's also quieter than the Accord, the 2.0 engine is as smooth as the Accord's 2.4, it felt it's got more low end torque and it felt peppier than the Accord driving around town from 0-60, it just felt lighter on its feet which is a plus also a minus.