REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-off-topic-current-events_50/)
-   -   kwok brothers arrested in HK (https://www.revscene.net/forums/665730-kwok-brothers-arrested-hk.html)

welfare 04-01-2012 09:48 AM

kwok brothers arrested in HK

surprised this wasn't posted here yet.
now, i'm not an economist major, but i'm curious to see what effect, if any, this will have on china's economy. and ultimately, the world's.

Billionaire Kwok brothers arrested in Hong Kong, Sun Hung Kai Properties value plunges

yray 04-01-2012 09:55 AM

Nothing, other than their shares tanking which already did on Friday.

shawnly1000 04-01-2012 09:57 AM

I'm curious as to why/how do you think this will affect the world economy.

welfare 04-01-2012 10:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnly1000 (Post 7871291)

well, like i said, i'm no expert by any means, but they are asia's largest real estate developer. event's of smaller scale have been known to spark stock market crashes.
and as i understand it, again, no expert, much of the world's economy is hanging on by china. and china does follow the model for economic crash that has been seen in the past.

Bahhbeehhaaaa 04-01-2012 10:06 AM

it's nearly impossible to not participate in the corruption when a person owns that much asset, only a few knows how to spell integrity.

Bahhbeehhaaaa 04-01-2012 10:07 AM

Mmmm you know somthing.?

Quote:

Originally Posted by shawnly1000 (Post 7871291)

Matsuda 04-01-2012 10:08 AM

those kwoks are always up to no good..

jackmeister 04-01-2012 10:42 AM

-Donald Tsang got shafted for getting a free boat ride from Macau to HK on Sing Tao's owner's yacht.
-Henry Tang got shafted for having an extra basement
-The Kwoks probably got shafted for outdated haircuts?