REVscene - Vancouver Automotive Forum

Welcome to the REVscene Automotive Forum forums.

Registration is Free!You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! The banners on the left side and below do not show for registered users!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   REVscene Automotive Forum > Automotive Chat > Vancouver Auto Chat

Vancouver Auto Chat 2016 VAC Community Head Moderator: Raid3n

Old 11-06-2012, 06:02 PM   #1
I Will not Admit my Addiction to RS

Who is a backyard mechanic/moonlights?

Just curious, I work in the trade and the more i get to know guys, the more I find out they do a ton of jobs after work in their own garage and etc. What are your guy's experiences on this? TBH, I can only think of disasters such as seized or sheared off nuts and bolts, something that doesn't really cover your ass when shit hits the fan. I have done small jobs around for myself and family, but never really thought of it as another source of income.

So whats your guy's take?
Advertisement
dn53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 06:07 PM   #2
The Brown Reason

Thanked 5,863 Times in 1,525 Posts
The only reason a person goes to a backyard mechanic is because they're price conscious
The only type of car (mostly) that will go to a backyard mechanic is something thats a couple years old

Sounds like a bad clientele that's already tight with their wallet and cars that will need extra work to boot.