REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   Suggestions for a new car? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/693599-suggestions-new-car.html)

Kamui712 03-16-2014 05:12 PM

Suggestions for a new car?

Hey all

I'm looking to buy a new/used car and was hoping for some advice, or point me in the direction where I can read and learn more...I'm not experienced with cars and want to do some good research about what I'm getting myself into.

Ideally I would like to keep my next car for 15-20 years...

Budget: 10k - 18k

Main goal here is to get something on the more practical mostly for:

- Picking up family from airport
- Big trips to the states
- Gas
- Reliable
- Easy to maintain

E.g.
- Mazda 3
- Hyundai Elantra GT
- Subaru Impreza HB
- Toyota Prius (maybe..)
- Honda Civic (2009-2011)

I know Mazda's got the new high compression skyactiv engine, but I'm not sure how long/reliable this new tech is...

Any suggestions/experiences of this cars would be great! I'm happy to go do research on my own too - are there specific sites ppl use here?

T4RAWR 03-16-2014 05:14 PM

rav4 out of the list your provided.

http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/84-rav4-forum/

PLUJ 03-16-2014 05:49 PM

Mazda Cx-5 for me I'd say, good looking car.

Purely 03-16-2014 06:09 PM

New Mazda 3 and Cx-5 gets my vote.

fliptuner 03-16-2014 06:30 PM

If you want it to last 15-20 years, only the Rav4 stands out.

Euro7r 03-16-2014 06:37 PM

Can't go wrong with a Toyota. Their vehicles are built like a tank. My dad drove his Toyota to the ground before he bought another one =P.

T2000 03-16-2014 06:45 PM

what a depressing list

BrRsn 03-16-2014 06:54 PM

I'd go prius if I was you

There's a reason why cab drivers prefer the prius as their vehicle -- despite what a lot of people say about the long term reliability of the batteries/engine, there's no reason not to buy a prius IMO