REVscene - Vancouver Automotive Forum

Welcome to the REVscene Automotive Forum forums.

Registration is Free!You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! The banners on the left side and below do not show for registered users!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   REVscene Automotive Forum > Automotive Chat > Vancouver Auto Chat

Vancouver Auto Chat 2016 VAC Community Head Moderator: Raid3n

Old 07-26-2016, 01:50 PM   #1
NEWBIE ACCOUNT!

Red Prelude Clearcoat peeling

Hey all,

I am new to the car scene and I finally have a car I care about more than a regular beater. It's a 2001 red Honda Prelude. I know it's simple compared to what some of you guys have but I am new to taking care of my cars and I want to learn more.

So my problem is the clearcoat is starting to peel off and bubble on parts of the car. Some areas are manageable like the trunk and side panel, but some look really really terrible and I have no pride in driving her around.

The hood is by far the worst part. I have considered a few options on what to do with it but I would like to know your opinions for a car newbie.

Option A) Paint the entire car. This is obviously the best option for the car but I don't know if I want to drop $1800 for a new paint job on a car that's probably worth $4000 or so. I know a friend of a friend who does it so it would be cheaper than going to a place professionally. My mechanic says $1800 for an entire paint job is a pretty good deal but I am unaware.