REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   Learn me on leasing/buying German (https://www.revscene.net/forums/710268-learn-me-leasing-buying-german.html)

Amaru 09-07-2016 05:01 PM

Learn me on leasing/buying German

Hi friends. I am hoping to tap into the collective RS wisdom and get some advice on buying or leasing a new German car...

All my previous vehicle purchases have been used, so I've got zero experience when it comes to buying new, especially a higher-end German car (most likely a 2016 M4).

1.) What kind of negotiating room do I have? I've heard German dealers are notorious for taking a 'take it or leave it' attitude... is that true? Can I negotiate finance/lease rates, optional equipment, etc? Or is the trade-in value of my current car the only area where I can really negotiate to get a better deal than the sticker price / dealer's initial offer?

2.) Will different dealers compete for my business? I'm in Victoria where there's only one BMW dealership, but I know that any M4 I might purchase would almost certainly come from another dealer in Western Canada.... can I call up Brian Jessel BMW, for example, and try to get them to beat my local Victoria BMW dealer's offer?

3.) Any other advice, tips, or wisdom to share about leasing or purchasing a new car?

Thanks in advance dudes. :fuckyea:

smoothie. 09-07-2016 05:08 PM

call up a certain rs member that works at a bmw dealership

tell him you know smoothie

he'll give you cost + 50%

Teriyaki 09-07-2016 05:15 PM

With one dealership in the area, your bargaining power would surely be diminished as they know they'll be an extra cost to you if you were to try to purchase from any other dealer in the lower mainland.