REVscene - Vancouver Automotive Forum

Welcome to the REVscene Automotive Forum forums.

Registration is Free!You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! The banners on the left side and below do not show for registered users!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   REVscene Automotive Forum > Automotive Chat > Vancouver Auto Chat

Vancouver Auto Chat 2016 VAC Community Head Moderator: Raid3n

Old 04-19-2011, 10:42 AM   #1
I contribute to threads in the offtopic forum

engines, what is better and why?

I am not a mechanic so forgive me if question is noob and dumb.

Why is it that american sports car makers uses high "Litre" engines? (Corvette with 6.2L , Viper with 8L, dodge SRT8 using liie 6.1L blocks)

Meanwhile, the japanese or european makers use 3.6L twinturbo in GTR or porches.

Does this mean american car builders put less advance engineeering into their engine design?
Advertisement
Old 04-19-2011, 10:47 AM   #2
OMGWTFBBQ is a common word I say everyday

Thanked 2,790 Times in 1,179 Posts
No, it's because of emissions and displacement restrictions in Europe. Higher displacement = higher road tax and more emissions. Therefore, they try to squeeze more out of very small engines.

Have you noticed that it's a lot easier to get more power out of the American big-displacement engines than the European ones? They are less stressed and have more headroom.
fml
roastpuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 03:08 PM   #3
OMGWTFBBQ is a common word I say everyday

Quote:
Originally Posted by wasabisashimi View Post