REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Auto Chat (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-auto-chat_173/)
-   -   engines, what is better and why? (https://www.revscene.net/forums/643296-engines-what-better-why.html)

wasabisashimi 04-19-2011 10:42 AM

engines, what is better and why?

I am not a mechanic so forgive me if question is noob and dumb.

Why is it that american sports car makers uses high "Litre" engines? (Corvette with 6.2L , Viper with 8L, dodge SRT8 using liie 6.1L blocks)

Meanwhile, the japanese or european makers use 3.6L twinturbo in GTR or porches.

Does this mean american car builders put less advance engineeering into their engine design?

roastpuff 04-19-2011 10:47 AM

No, it's because of emissions and displacement restrictions in Europe. Higher displacement = higher road tax and more emissions. Therefore, they try to squeeze more out of very small engines.

Have you noticed that it's a lot easier to get more power out of the American big-displacement engines than the European ones? They are less stressed and have more headroom.

Leopold Stotch 04-19-2011 03:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by wasabisashimi (Post 7397881)
I am not a mechanic so forgive me if question is noob and dumb.

Why is it that american sports car makers uses high "Litre" engines? (Corvette with 6.2L , Viper with 8L, dodge SRT8 using liie 6.1L blocks)

Meanwhile, the japanese or european makers use 3.6L twinturbo in GTR or porches.

Does this mean american car builders put less advance engineeering into their engine design?

the word you're looking for is higher displacement.

lowda9 04-19-2011 03:21 PM

I think also because they want to continue their muscle car traditions.

CP.AR 04-19-2011 03:23 PM

American cars imo are focused on the following (well... mostly, until this generation of "compact" cars)

- Brute
- Powerful
- Big