REVscene - Vancouver Automotive Forum


Welcome to the REVscene Automotive Forum forums.

Registration is Free!You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today! The banners on the left side and below do not show for registered users!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.


Go Back   REVscene Automotive Forum > Vancouver LifeStyles (VLS) > Computer Tech, Gaming & Electronics

Computer Tech, Gaming & Electronics THIS SPACE OPEN FOR ADVERTISEMENT. YOU SHOULD BE ADVERTISING HERE!
Silicon Valley.
Tips & tricks, tech support, home theatre, online gaming, reviews, latest news...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-21-2023, 01:19 PM   #7126
My dinner reheated before my turbo spooled
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 1,771
Thanked 582 Times in 173 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by twitchyzero View Post
im using the phantek, i like it
I used them too.
But it only fits certain cases.
Advertisement
ime2006 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2023, 12:35 PM   #7127
I WANT MY 10 YEARS BACK FROM RS.net!
 
twitchyzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 22,047
Thanked 9,826 Times in 3,906 Posts
i cut the rear expansion ports using this video


i cut down the middle then bent both sides in and l left them there instead of twisting them off, looks a lot cleaner than i was expecting
twitchyzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2023, 12:59 PM   #7128
G
Banned (BBM)
 
G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: None
Posts: 3,128
Thanked 661 Times in 262 Posts
Any deals on internet? My plans expiring soon and want to see whats the best out there...
G is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2023, 08:22 PM   #7129
I have named my kids VIC and VLS
 
Hondaracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 36,809
Thanked 14,531 Times in 5,748 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by G View Post
Any deals on internet? My plans expiring soon and want to see whats the best out there...
If you live in an apartment brand new sales with Telus can be like $65 for gigabit
__________________
Dank memes cant melt steel beams
Hondaracer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2023, 02:23 PM   #7130
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
Anyone administrating Google Workspace?

What's the best way to offboard users while maintaining their data?

1. Google Takeout to backup all their data
2. Use GYB to backup the user's emails
3. Delete the user in the admin portal
4. Make a new Google Group with the user's old email
5. Use GYB to restore the user's emails

Any better options?

I'm used to Microsoft 365 and just converting the user mailbox to a shared mailbox, then removing licensing. Their data including OneDrive stuff stays, emails continue to come in, and I just add whoever needs access.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2023, 10:15 PM   #7131
To me, there is the Internet and there is RS
 
underscore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Okanagan
Posts: 16,362
Thanked 9,014 Times in 3,924 Posts
Do any of you guys have a VPN into your home network set up? I just got a speed bump from Shaw and it'd be nice to be able to access my stuff at home while on the road for work. I have a tp-link AX3000 router which has options for OpenVPN, PPTP and L2TP/IPSec but I don't know anything about them. I want something quite secure because I'll be accessing it from crappy hotel networks which are always dicey.
__________________
1991 Toyota Celica GTFour RC // 2007 Toyota Rav4 V6 // 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee
1992 Toyota Celica GT-S ["sold"] \\ 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee CRD [sold] \\ 2000 Jeep Cherokee [sold] \\ 1997 Honda Prelude [sold] \\ 1992 Jeep YJ [sold/crashed] \\ 1987 Mazda RX-7 [sold] \\ 1987 Toyota Celica GT-S [crushed]
Quote:
Originally Posted by maksimizer View Post
half those dudes are hotter than ,my GF.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevYouUp View Post
reading this thread is like waiting for goku to charge up a spirit bomb in dragon ball z
Quote:
Originally Posted by Good_KarMa View Post
OH thank god. I thought u had sex with my wife. :cry:
underscore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2023, 02:47 AM   #7132
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
Yeah, you'll probably want OpenVPN. You set it up on your router's end and it'll spit out an installer that you run on your computer (or profile you use with the OpenVPN client).

I turn on my OpenVPN server whenever I go on vacation just in case I need to access anything at home.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
This post thanked by:
Old 03-25-2023, 11:15 PM   #7133
HELP ME PLS!!!
 
lilaznviper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: vancouver
Posts: 5,988
Thanked 1,380 Times in 479 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razor Ramon HG View Post
Anyone administrating Google Workspace?

What's the best way to offboard users while maintaining their data?

1. Google Takeout to backup all their data
2. Use GYB to backup the user's emails
3. Delete the user in the admin portal
4. Make a new Google Group with the user's old email
5. Use GYB to restore the user's emails

Any better options?

I'm used to Microsoft 365 and just converting the user mailbox to a shared mailbox, then removing licensing. Their data including OneDrive stuff stays, emails continue to come in, and I just add whoever needs access.
I do a google takeout. I try to move everyone to 365 instead of using gsuite
lilaznviper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2023, 11:26 PM   #7134
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilaznviper View Post
I do a google takeout. I try to move everyone to 365 instead of using gsuite
Yeah, new management is retarded so we're moving going backwards from Microsoft 365 to Google.

__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 01:04 PM   #7135
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
Any mechanical keyboard nerds?

I got a Logitech G915 TKL, but thinking about trying a new keyboard.

Saw the NuPhy Air75/Halo75 and they look pretty nice.

Hotswappable switches, wireless connectivity and RGB.

Apparently no VIA/QMK - which means no key remapping? Not that big of a deal since I don't have that already.

https://nuphy.com/collections/keyboards/products/halo75

https://nuphy.com/collections/keyboards/products/air75
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 05:52 PM   #7136
Hacked RS to become a mod
 
SkinnyPupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sunny Hong Kong
Posts: 52,715
Thanked 23,910 Times in 8,252 Posts
I have had a million mechanical keyboards, and right now I am happy with my Keychron K2. It's the perfect size for a small desk that retains arrow keys. I have the original one but bought the hotswap one later. I recently re-lubed all the switches (kind of pointless since they're pre-lubed) and put on some better keycaps. PVD caps on red switches feels good man
SkinnyPupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2023, 11:21 PM   #7137
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SkinnyPupp View Post
I have had a million mechanical keyboards, and right now I am happy with my Keychron K2. It's the perfect size for a small desk that retains arrow keys. I have the original one but bought the hotswap one later. I recently re-lubed all the switches (kind of pointless since they're pre-lubed) and put on some better keycaps. PVD caps on red switches feels good man
Do you use it for gaming? I'm currently looking at the K2 as well, but have latency concerns since Rtings says it's pretty bad.

K2

Latency Wired - 15.7 ms
Latency Receiver - N/A
Latency Bluetooth - 25.3 ms

Air75/Halo75

Latency Wired - 6.3 ms
Latency Receiver - 10.4 ms
Latency Bluetooth - 24.4 ms

Then you have my current G915. Logitech has done some crazy sorcery with their Lightspeed tech.

Latency Wired - 1.3 ms
Latency Receiver - 1.9 ms
Latency Bluetooth - 8.9 ms

I think with the Nuphy ones, I can use the dongle. 10ms is manageable I think and I have to give something up.

Might just order both of them off Amazon and give them a test drive, lol.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2023, 12:41 AM   #7138
Hacked RS to become a mod
 
SkinnyPupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sunny Hong Kong
Posts: 52,715
Thanked 23,910 Times in 8,252 Posts
I definitely wouldn't game with it via bluetooth, even normal typing is bad. It's fine for me wired though, and I am usually pretty sensitive to this.

I wouldn't have guessed 15 ms but maybe I am too old to notice now
SkinnyPupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2023, 08:39 PM   #7139
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
So since I got the Keychron K2 Pro and NuPhy Air75 in my hands right now, I decided to compare latency with my Logitech G915 TKL using an online reaction test.

https://faculty.washington.edu/chudl.../redgreen.html

G915 - low profile Kailh Choc blue
K2 Pro - Keychron K Pro brown
Air75 - low profile Gateron blue

The G915 TKL with the wireless Lightspeed dongle is my point of reference. It's how I normally use the keyboard.



Pretty amazing how the G915 on wireless is faster than the other two keyboards wired.

Under normal usage, I would say both the K2 Pro and the Air75's latency was indistinguishable compared to the G915. The only time I noticed a clear delay was with the Air75 in Bluetooth mode. Not sure what's going on there.

I haven't tested these under gaming conditions, but I imagine the results will be similar.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
This post thanked by:
Old 03-30-2023, 01:51 AM   #7140
Hacked RS to become a mod
 
SkinnyPupp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sunny Hong Kong
Posts: 52,715
Thanked 23,910 Times in 8,252 Posts
Interesting! I just tested it against my mouse, and yeah my scores went from 0.200 to 0.230 or so. I wonder how much of it is just due to the activation point of the red switches....

It seems like the 20-30 ms is totally unnoticeable for me on a keyboard. If it was on a mouse or controller though, forget it.
SkinnyPupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2023, 11:06 AM   #7141
To me, there is the Internet and there is RS
 
underscore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Okanagan
Posts: 16,362
Thanked 9,014 Times in 3,924 Posts
I need an extension for my laptops power cable and since it's USB-C I figure it's easier to carry around a cable for that end rather than the 120V side. Is there anything special I need to look for or just any USB-C extension cable? It's for a ThinkPad if that matters.
__________________
1991 Toyota Celica GTFour RC // 2007 Toyota Rav4 V6 // 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee
1992 Toyota Celica GT-S ["sold"] \\ 2007 Jeep Grand Cherokee CRD [sold] \\ 2000 Jeep Cherokee [sold] \\ 1997 Honda Prelude [sold] \\ 1992 Jeep YJ [sold/crashed] \\ 1987 Mazda RX-7 [sold] \\ 1987 Toyota Celica GT-S [crushed]
Quote:
Originally Posted by maksimizer View Post
half those dudes are hotter than ,my GF.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RevYouUp View Post
reading this thread is like waiting for goku to charge up a spirit bomb in dragon ball z
Quote:
Originally Posted by Good_KarMa View Post
OH thank god. I thought u had sex with my wife. :cry:
underscore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2023, 11:42 AM   #7142
RS.net, where our google ads make absolutely no sense!
 
radeonboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 962
Thanked 828 Times in 403 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by underscore View Post
I need an extension for my laptops power cable and since it's USB-C I figure it's easier to carry around a cable for that end rather than the 120V side. Is there anything special I need to look for or just any USB-C extension cable? It's for a ThinkPad if that matters.
I believe reputable brands don't make them because the USB-C spec doesn't allow for them. It's probably something to do with USB-C cables handling larger amounts of power compared to older USB specs.
radeonboy is offline   Reply With Quote
This post thanked by:
Old 05-03-2023, 12:25 PM   #7143
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
You need a USB-C PD rated cable.

https://www.amazon.ca/UGREEN-Charge-.../dp/B0BG5WNWGF

This UGREEN one will work fine. I buy a lot of UGREEN cables/adapters for work and personal use. They're good stuff.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2023, 12:40 PM   #7144
OMGWTFBBQ is a common word I say everyday
 
roastpuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 5,166
Thanked 2,814 Times in 1,195 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razor Ramon HG View Post
You need a USB-C PD rated cable.

https://www.amazon.ca/UGREEN-Charge-.../dp/B0BG5WNWGF

This UGREEN one will work fine. I buy a lot of UGREEN cables/adapters for work and personal use. They're good stuff.
I think he's looking for a USB-C extension that's PD rated. I don't know if I've seen a long enough extension from a brand that I'd trust.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by HollyZ32 View Post
i look so damn white in all the pics! lol
fml
roastpuff is offline   Reply With Quote
This post thanked by:
Old 05-03-2023, 01:36 PM   #7145
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by roastpuff View Post
I think he's looking for a USB-C extension that's PD rated. I don't know if I've seen a long enough extension from a brand that I'd trust.
Ah yeah, misread it. Thought he just wanted a good cable.

https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B08MXL8JGF

That one is 1M.

I wouldn't worry so much about whether an extension cord is in-spec if it's charging-related. Worst case, it'll charge slower.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2023, 01:12 AM   #7146
Banned (ABWS)?
 
AzNightmare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 19,224
Thanked 4,014 Times in 1,705 Posts
I need some suggestions on a gaming laptop, comfortable budget around $1500.
I currently have a 15" Nitro with a gtx 1650.

Seems pretty overwhelming, as there's just so many options.

I'm kind of leaning toward the ASUS TUF Dash F15 15.6" right now.
i7-12650H/512GB SSD/16GB RAM/GeForce RTX 3060

I think something with those specs are good for me.

Is Asus a pretty good brand when it comes to laptops compared to the competition?
__________________
__________________________________________________
Last edited by AzNightmare; Today at 10:09 AM

Last edited by AzNightmare; 05-07-2023 at 03:22 AM.
AzNightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2023, 12:26 PM   #7147
To me, there is the Internet and there is RS
 
Manic!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 16,136
Thanked 7,445 Times in 3,497 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AzNightmare View Post
I need some suggestions on a gaming laptop, comfortable budget around $1500.
I currently have a 15" Nitro with a gtx 1650.

Seems pretty overwhelming, as there's just so many options.

I'm kind of leaning toward the ASUS TUF Dash F15 15.6" right now.
i7-12650H/512GB SSD/16GB RAM/GeForce RTX 3060

I think something with those specs are good for me.

Is Asus a pretty good brand when it comes to laptops compared to the competition?
Asus is good but here is a Nitro with a 3070ti for $1399.

https://forums.redflagdeals.com/best...b-ssd-2608704/
__________________
Until the lions have their own historians, the history of the hunt will always glorify the hunter.
Manic! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2023, 02:17 PM   #7148
Banned (ABWS)?
 
AzNightmare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 19,224
Thanked 4,014 Times in 1,705 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manic! View Post
Asus is good but here is a Nitro with a 3070ti for $1399.

https://forums.redflagdeals.com/best...b-ssd-2608704/
I had a lot of issues with my current Nitro. Had to take it back for warranty and tbh, still don't think it's fully fixed. This one's a different laptop, but I have to admit, I kind of don't want to go back with Acer again. The specs look really good for that price though. It makes me wonder, are they cutting corners in other areas to lower the cost? Last thing I want is to go for specs but end up with another laptop with reliability issues within a year.

After some more research, I'm actually leaning toward a Asus ROG STRIX SCAR 17 now. I heard their build quality is a lot better since the ROG is supposed to be Asus higher tier laptops? Overall, I'm willing to pay more for something that's reliable and won't give me headaches a year later.
__________________
__________________________________________________
Last edited by AzNightmare; Today at 10:09 AM

Last edited by AzNightmare; 05-07-2023 at 02:25 PM.
AzNightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2023, 03:54 AM   #7149
Banned (ABWS)?
 
AzNightmare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 19,224
Thanked 4,014 Times in 1,705 Posts
I'm in the process of upgrading my PC. What was initially meant to just be a gaming machine, I'm now doing video editing 2k/4k videos in Premiere.

I have a B450 MSI Gaming Pro Carbon Max Wifi, Ryzen 5 3600, and 2x8gb DDR4 3200 MHz Patriot Viper Steel RAM.

Should I buy another pair of the same RAM, or go with new 2x16gb sticks?
I won't be upgrading again, so whether I futureproof (by keeping RAM slots available) is not relevant to me... I just want to make the most logical choice now... Buying 2 more sticks and using all 4 slots is the cheapest since I already have 2, but would I gain any performance advantage by using 2x16gb instead?

Would there be any issues of the PC not running well because all 4 slots are used vs just using 2?
__________________
__________________________________________________
Last edited by AzNightmare; Today at 10:09 AM
AzNightmare is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2023, 03:07 AM   #7150
Say! Say! Say!
 
Razor Ramon HG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 15,371
Thanked 3,296 Times in 1,441 Posts
No, just add the additional two slots of RAM. Mix and matching RAM these days isn't much of a problem, especially two different sets of matching sticks.
__________________
Quote:
Owner of Vansterdam's 420th thanks. OH YEAUHHH.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 89blkcivic View Post
Did I tell you guys black is my favourite colour? My Ridgeline is black. My Honda Fit is black. Wish my dick was black........ LOL.
Razor Ramon HG is offline   Reply With Quote
This post thanked by:
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
Revscene.net cannot be held accountable for the actions of its members nor does the opinions of the members represent that of Revscene.net