REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Vancouver Off-Topic / Current Events (https://www.revscene.net/forums/vancouver-off-topic-current-events_50/)
-   -   Emergency kits/supplies (https://www.revscene.net/forums/716820-emergency-kits-supplies.html)

T4RAWR 03-13-2020 12:05 AM

Emergency kits/supplies

I didnt' want to hijack the coronavirus thread but I did mention that everyone should have atleast a 72 hour emergency kit in their home for some sort of disaster. The government even has a page dedicated to providing a guideline on what you should have at home and in a "go bag" (source: https://www2.gov.bc.ca/gov/content/s...rab-and-go-bag)

I'm not a proponent of stocking up on a 10 year supply of toilet paper... but I do think its a good idea to have some basic supplies at home for emergencies. Most of the items are things you'll probably already have around the house, they just need to be gathered up and organized.

Figured this thread would be a good place for people to share kit/knowledge/where to buy/etc...

I'll throw a bit of what I can share as far as my knowledge goes. What I post below are some of my thoughts for a 72 hour home kit.

Containers/Storage:

As far as containers go there's a few different schools of thought. You could go with a large hiking/military surplus backpack or a sturdy container like a plano sportsmans trunk or any of the husky brand stackable storage containers available at home depot. I prefer containers over backpacks for a home kit as containers are easier to pack and store as well as retrieve items from.

If you're at home and expecting to ride out the first 72 hours I would recommend a series of stackable storage containers such as the following:

https://www.homedepot.ca/product/hus...ack/1001122738