REVscene Automotive Forum

REVscene Automotive Forum (https://www.revscene.net/forums/)
-   Music & Clubbing (https://www.revscene.net/forums/music-clubbing_31/)
-   -   Audiophile Corner (https://www.revscene.net/forums/716749-audiophile-corner.html)

MG1 01-22-2020 05:26 PM

Audiophile Corner

No, not pedophile, lol. Audiophile.

You know, people who enjoy listening to really good recordings.

Although my ears aren't what they used to be, I can still hear the differences between a K-Tel recording and a direct to disc recording.

Being a musician, I really enjoy live performances. Nothing beats a live performance, but when it is next to impossible, listening to a good recording on decent equipment is a good compromise.

Discuss your favourite recordings, whether it be vinyl, tape, or disc of some kind. 8 Track? Kid you not, it was a pretty good format.

A lot of recent re-releases are remastered and most of the time it is never as good as the original, but, when done right, it is simply amazing.

Vinyl has, or is making, a come back. I've taken my old Technics turntable and brought it back to life. I've spent oodles of money on cleaning equipment (dirty, filthy vinyl). To the point, I've nearly given up. Don't get me wrong, the sound is amazing. Nothing like the sound of vinyl, but even the slightest of pop bothers the hell out of me.